Netflix notes that inactive users account for a miniscule less than half of one percent of its overall user base, which the company says are "only" a few hundred thousand accounts. After cancellation, Netflix will hold onto their account details, profiles, favourites, and viewing preferences for another 10 months, if they choose to return.
Netflix has said it will reach out to customers who have not watched anything on the on-demand video streaming service for more than a year, to find out if they are still interested in maintaining their subscription. According to Wu, it's a move aimed at generating goodwill, saying, "we hope this new approach saves people some hard-earned cash". If they don't respond, the subscription will be canceled. After a year without using Netflix, users will start getting emails or app notifications asking if they want to keep subscribing to the service.More news: Samsung Terrace Is A 4K QLED TV Meant For The Outdoors
At the end of March, Netflix had a subscriber base of 182 million.
Netflix is planning to purge its service of subscribers whose accounts are no longer actively being used-but you may have a chance to save your precious streaming data if you resubscribe before it's wiped. If they don't confirm that they want to keep subscribing, we'll automatically cancel their subscription. Those who do not confirm will have their accounts deactivated.More news: Renewable energy will show "resilience" to coronavirus pandemic
It's not truly over at this point, though, explains Eddy Wu of Netflix's product innovation team in a blog post.More news: Swiggy launches alcohol home delivery in Ranchi, other cities to follow soon